Inaugural Council Mtg. of New Term

Wednesday October 18th, 2023 ťuk^waa?atḥiic hišimyiłýak

APPROVED Meeting Minutes

Present: Anne Mack, Kirsten Johnsen, Lisa Morgan, Kevin Mack, Noah Plonka

Guest: Angela Polifroni, Kathy Waddell

Chair: Kirsten Johnsen Recorder: K Johnsen

Quorum was present throughout the meeting

Convened 11:00 a.m.

Agenda adopted by consensus

Minutes from September 25, 2023 approved by consensus

STARTS CM00636

1) WELCOMING & OPENING STATEMENT FROM CHIEF ANNE

- a) wiicackum (Chief Anne) welcomed everyone
- b) ciiqaa performed by yakawa?aḥ (Kevin Mack)
- c) Honouring the previous term's Council members
 - i) Anne thanked the previous Council members for their time and commitment to the Nation's matters and other dealings and presented Naomi Mack a card and gift

2) **SWEARING IN CEREMONY**

- a) Swearing-in of the members of Council and signing of a confidentiality agreement.
 - i) Each newly elected Council Member read out both the Oath of Office and Confidentiality Agreements then signed them
- b) All five Council members received a DCS-1 Disclosure Statement to fill out and return

3) REQUEST FOR DECISION AND LEGISLATION

a) Request for Decision

i) Choose of a chairperson and an alternate chairperson from the members of Council.

CM00636 MOVED: Anne Mack SECONDED: Kevin Mack

THAT Kirsten Johnsen be appointed as chairperson with executive oversight of all acts that apply. &

THAT Anne Mack be appointed alternate chairperson.

YES: 5 NO: 0

O: 0 Motion Carried

b) Request for Decision

- i) Determine the Executive Portfolios
 - (1) Finance portfolio
 - (2) Community Services Portfolio
 - (3) Lands, Public Works & Environmental Protection Portfolio
 - (4) Resources Harvesting Portfolio

CM00637 MOVED: Noah Plonka SECONDED: Anne Mack

THAT Council resolve to rescind the Intergovernmental Relations Portfolio.

YES: 5 NO: 0

Motion Carried

c) Request for Decision

i) Dissolve Intergovernmental Relations Portfolio

CM00638 MOVED: Kevin Mack SECONDED: Noah Plonka

THAT Kevin Mack be appointed to hold the Finance Portfolio.

THAT Anne Mack be appointed to hold the Community Services Portfolio.

THAT Noah Plonka be appointed to hold the Lands, Public Works and Environmental Protections Portfolio.

and

THAT Lisa Morgan be appointed to hold the Natural Resources Portfolio.

YES: 5

NO: 0 Motion Carried

d) Request for Decision

i) Committee appointments

(1) Citizenship & Enrolment Committee

- (a) Anne Mack required as ex officio
 - (i) List of current members Lisa Morgan, Naomi Mack, Gale Johnsen
 - (ii) Naomi Mack has indicated she would like to be considered.

CM00639 MOVED: Noah Plonka SECONDED: Lisa Morgan

THAT Council appoints Anne Mack, Naomi Mack and Gale Johnsen to the Citizenship & Enrolment Committee.

YES: 5

NO: 0 Motion Carried

(2) Economic Development Committee

- (a) List of required members: Anne Mack, Exec holding Lands portfolio, DLPR & Ec Dev officer
- (b) List of current members Ken Matthews, Gale Johnsen, Peggy Hartman

CM00640 MOVED: Kevin Mack SECONDED: Anne Mack

THAT Council appoints Anne Mack, Anne Mack, David Johnsen, Rick Shafer (in capacity of the Capital Projects officer, non-voting), Noah Plonka (as chair), Ken Matthews, Peggy Hartman & Gale Johnsen to the Economic Development Committee.

YES: 5

NO: 0 Motion Carried

(3) Finance Committee

(a) One seat is up for re-appointment: Rebecca Hurwitz (indicated interest to remain)

CM00641 **MOVED:** Anne Mack SECONDED: Noah Plonka

THAT Council appoint Rebecca Hurwitz to the Finance Committee for a four-year term up for reappointment in 2027.

YES: 5 NO: 0

Motion Carried

(4) Treaty Implementation Committee

- (a) The treaty implementation committee is composed of
 - (i) the Tyee Ha'wilth,
 - (ii) no fewer than one other member of Council and not more than two other members of Council, and
 - (iii) not more than three other individuals appointed by Council upon recommendation of the Tyee Ha'wilth
- (b) List of current members
 - (i) Kirsten Johnsen, Gary Johnsen, Anne Mack,

CM00642 MOVED: **Kevin Mack** SECONDED: Noah Plonka

THAT Council appoints Kevin Mack, as chairperson, Anne Mack and Gary Johnsen to the Implementation Committee.

YES: 0 NO:

Motion Carried

e) Request for Decision

i) Maa-nulth Treaty Society and Member Delegate

CM00643 MOVFD: Anne Mack SECONDED: Kevin Mack

THAT Council appoints Kevin Mack as Director, Anne Mack as the Alternate and Lisa Morgan as Member Delegate to the Maa-nulth Treaty Society.

YES: 5

0 NO: **Motion Carried**

f) Request for Decision

i) Nuu-chah-nulth Tribal Council

CM00644 MOVED: Anne Mack SECONDED: Noah Plonka
THAT Toquaht Council appoints Lisa Morgan as Director and Kevin Mack as the alternate Director to the Nuu-chah-nulth Tribal Council Society board (NTC).

AND FURTHER

THAT Toquaht Council appoints Anne Mack as a member of the Nuu-chah-nulth Tribal Council Society.

YES: 5

NO: 0 **Motion Carried**

g) Request for Decision

i) Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District

CM00645 MOVED: Anne Mack SECONDED: Lisa Morgan

THAT Toquaht Council appoints Kirsten Johnsen as Director and Noah Plonka, as alternate, on the Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District Board.

YES: 5

NO: 0 Motion Carried

h) Request for Decision

i) Hayu Fishing Ltd.

CM00646 MOVED: Lisa Morgan SECONDED: Kevin Mack

THAT Toquaht Council appoints Noah Plonka as Director on the Hayu Fishing Partnership Ltd. Board.

YES: 5 NO: 0

Motion Carried

i) Request for Decision

i) Appoint the Fish & Wildlife Committee

CM00647 MOVED: Kevin Mack SECONDED: Anne Mack

THAT Council appoints Lisa Morgan, as chairperson, Anne Mack, Larry Johnson, David Johnsen and Daryll Keeble to the Fish & Wildlife Committee.

YES: 5

NO: 0 Motion Carried

i) Request for Decision

i) Schedule for Regular Council Meetings

CM00648 MOVED: Anne Mack SECONDED: Lisa Morgan

THAT Toquaht Meetings of Council be set for Thursdays at 3:00 P.M.

YES: 5

NO: 0 Motion Carried

(1) The regular schedule is based on the reporting requirements set out in the Financial

Administration Act

- (a) November 16th, 2023
- (b) January 18th 2024
- (c) May 16th, 2024
- (d) There will be Special Council meetings set up for enactment of various legislation throughout the year

4) LATE ADDITIONS

Adjourned 12:00 p.m.

Had a fun community soup, sandwich and dessert

Minutes prepared by

Chairperson Kirsten Johnsen
Law Clerk Kirsten Johnsen

Date 2024-01-03